Type Here to Get Search Results !



Appointment of Tamil Nadu State Election Commissioner
  • Retired IAS as Tamil Nadu State Return Commissioner Officer V Palanikumar was appointed in 2021. After serving for two years, he was reappointed in the same post for one year in May last year. 
  • His extended tenure ends next Saturday (March 9). Since Saturday was a holiday, he completed the work on Friday, the working day. Subsequently, the state government started the process of appointing a new Dotal Commissioner.
  • In this situation, Jyoti Nirmalasamy has been appointed as the Tamil Nadu State Election Commissioner.
Citizenship Amendment Act comes into force
  • The Central Government has announced today (March 11) that the Citizenship Amendment Act has been implemented across the country. The Ministry of Home Affairs has published a notification in the Gazette regarding the implementation of the Citizenship Amendment Act.
  • On December 11, 2019, the Citizenship Amendment Bill was passed in Parliament. The President gave his assent on 12 December 2019. 
  • The Act provides for the granting of Indian citizenship to non-Muslim religious minorities who arrived in India before December 31, 2014 from Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Afghanistan. It gives citizenship to Hindus, Christians, Sikhs, Jains, Buddhists and Parsis.
Prime Minister lays foundation stone for 112 national highway projects worth Rs 1 lakh crore for various states
  • Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi today inaugurated 112 national highway projects worth around one crore rupees in Gurugram, Haryana and laid the foundation stone for new projects. Millions of people from all over the country joined the program through technology.
  • 14 sets of Rs 14,000 crore Bengaluru-Kadapa-Vijayawada Expressway in Andhra Pradesh; In Karnataka Rs. 8,000 crore six sets of Belgaum – Hangund – Raichur section of National Highway 748A; Three sets of Shamli - Ambala highway worth Rs 4,900 crore in Haryana; Two sets of Amritsar - Bathinda route at a cost of Rs 3,800 crore in Punjab; Also, 39 other projects worth Rs.32,700 crore will be implemented in various states across the country.
Sweden joins NATO
  • Following Russia's invasion of Ukraine, neighboring countries Finland and Sweden, which had been non-aligned until then, applied to join NATO for their own security. However, Sweden was blocked by another NATO member, Turkey, from joining NATO.
  • Turkey, which has been accusing Sweden of not suppressing anti-Islamic protests and supporting terrorist Kurdish ethnic groups, has objected to joining the country in NATO. In this case, due to Turkey's objection, only Sweden's neighbor Finland joined NATO as the 31st member country last April.
  • Meanwhile, following Russia's invasion of Ukraine, efforts to get Sweden into NATO were accelerated. In this situation, NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg has urged Turkey to immediately withdraw its objection to Sweden joining NATO.
  • Following this, it was announced that Sweden was officially incorporated as one of the NATO member states on the 7th. In this regard, the Swedish national flag was raised today (March 11) at the NATO headquarters in Brussels, Belgium.
  • Swedish Prime Minister Ulf Kristerson and NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg were present at the flag raising ceremony.
French Badminton Open 2024 - India's Chadwick - Chirag pair champion
  • Badminton world No. 1 duo of Shathwik Sairaj Rangareddy and India's Chirag Shetty defeated Chinese Taipei's Li Jae-Hui and Yang Bo-Hsuan 21-11, 21-17 to win the first title of the 2024 French Open Super 750 season.
  • Satviksairaj Rangritty and Chirag Shetty today tasted their first win of the season by winning the BWF French Open 2024 title.
Appointment of Mr. AS Rajiv as Vigilance Commissioner in Central Anti-Corruption Vigilance Commission
  • The President vide notification dated February 9, 2024 and in pursuance of the powers conferred under Section 4(1) of the Central Anti-Corruption Vigilance Committee Act, 2003, has appointed Mr. AS Rajeev as the Commissioner of the Central Anti-Corruption Vigilance Committee.
  • Mr. AS Rajeev today (2024, March 11) assumed charge as the Anti-Corruption Vigilance Commissioner before the Central Anti-Corruption Vigilance Commissioner as approved by the President in accordance with the provisions of Section 5(3) of the Central Anti-Corruption Vigilance Committee Act, 2003.

Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.

Top Post Ad

Below Post Ad

Hollywood Movies


Join TNPSC SHOUTERS Telegram Channel


Join Telegram Channel