Type Here to Get Search Results !



Election Commissioners Appointment Bill Passed in Rajya Sabha
  • The Rajya Sabha on Tuesday passed a bill to regulate the appointment and working conditions of the Chief Election Commissioner of India and Election Commissioners. 
  • The Chief Returning Commissioner, Other Returning Commissioners (Appointment, Service Conditions, Tenure) Bill-2023 was tabled in the Rajya Sabha on August 10.
  • This bill was introduced when there was no mention of appointment of Chief Election Commissioner and Election Commissioners in the Act brought in 1991.
33% reservation for women in Puducherry, Jammu and Kashmir - Passing of two bills in Lok Sabha
  • Union Minister of State for Home Affairs Nithyanand Roy introduced the two bills namely the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization 2nd Amendment Bill and the Union Territory Governments Amendment Bill.
  • Following the minister's reply, both the bills were passed. In the special session of Parliament held last September, the 106th Amendment Bill to provide 33 percent reservation for women in the Lok Sabha and State Assemblies was passed. Following the President's assent, the Bill became law.
  • In this case, Bills have now been introduced to extend the Women's Reservation Act to the Union Territories of Puducherry and Jammu and Kashmir.
  • According to the 106th amendment of the Constitution, reservation for women will come into effect only after the re-delimitation of Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies held after the next census in the country.
  • Due to this, it seems that the implementation of reservation for women in the country will take some time. This reservation will last for 15 years after its coming into force. It is noted that thereafter, it may be extended as per the decision of the Parliament.
Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh Chief Ministers sworn in
  • In Madhya Pradesh, BJP has won 163 seats. Congress won only 66 seats. 116 seats are enough to get majority. But the Himalayan victory was registered by the BJP and raised the bar. While Shivraj Singh Chouhan was the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh for 4 times, now Mohan Yadav has been unanimously chosen by the BJP and MLAs as the new Chief Minister. 
  • Madhya Pradesh Governor Mangabhai Chaganbhai Patel administered the oath of office to Mohan Yadav as the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh at the swearing-in ceremony. He was also sworn in by Deputy Chief Ministers Rajendra Shukla and Jagadish Devda. 
  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, Natta, Union Ministers Jyotiraditya Scindia, Nitin Gadkari, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Thami, Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde and others attended the event. 
  • Vishnu Dev Sai took oath as Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh today. Leaders including Prime Minister Modi also participated in the ceremony.
Donald Tusk sworn in as Poland's new prime minister
  • After no party got a majority in the general election held in Poland on October 15, some of the leaders of the winning parties decided to form a government led by the leader of the centrist party, Donald Tusk.
  • Following this, in the vote of confidence held in the Parliament on Dec. 12, the government led by Tusk received support and won. This marks the end of the 8-year rule of the Law and Justice Party in Poland.
  • In this situation, the President of Poland administered the oath of office to Donald Tusk at the swearing-in ceremony held at the Polish Presidential Palace. Some ministers were also sworn in along with him.

Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.

Top Post Ad

Below Post Ad

Hollywood Movies


Join TNPSC SHOUTERS Telegram Channel


Join Telegram Channel